UBC Faculty Among Order of Canada Appointees

December 29, 2021

On December 29, 2021, Her Excellency the Right Honourable Mary Simon, Governor General of Canada, announced 135 appointments to the Order of Canada.

The new appointees include 2 Companions (C.C.), 39 Officers (O.C.), 1 honorary Member and 93 Members (C.M.).

The Order of Canada is one of Canada's highest civilian honours. Its Companions, Officers and Members take to heart the motto of the Order: DESIDERANTES MELIOREM PATRIAM ("They desire a better country").

Created in 1967, the Order of Canada recognizes outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation. More than 7,000 people from all sectors of society have been invested into the Order. Those who bear the Order’s iconic snowflake insignia have changed our nation’s measure of success and, through the sum of their accomplishments, have helped us build a better Canada.

UBC faculty members are among the new appointees.


Read the Announcement


Officers of the Order of Canada (O.C.)


Dr. Pieter Cullis, O.C. (Faculty of Medicine)
For his contributions to the advancement of biomedical research and drug development, and for his mentorship of the next generation of scientists and entrepreneurs.

Dr. Connie Eaves, O.C. (Faculty of Medicine / School of Biomedical Engineering and distinguished scientist at the BC Cancer's Terry Fox Laboratory)
For advancing our understanding of cancer development, and for her national and international leadership in stem cell biology.

Dr. Donald McKenzie, O.C. (Professor Emeritus of Kinesiology - Faculty of Education / Faculty of Medicine)
For his expertise in sports medicine and for his seminal research on the effectiveness of exercise as an intervention for breast cancer patients.

Dr. Mary Ellen Turpel-Lafond, O.C. (Allard School of Law / Academic Director, Indian Residential School History and Dialogue Centre)
For her ongoing commitment to improving the child welfare system and supports for Indigenous people in B.C.




Dr. Walter Hardy, C.M. (Faculty of Science - Professor Emeritus)
For his pioneering contributions to the fields of particle physics, materials science and high-temperature superconductivity, as a distinguished theorist and experimentalist.

Dr. Curtis A. Suttle, C.M. (Faculty of Science)
For his innovative scholarship in the area of marine virology and for his mentorship of the next generation of scientists.

Dr. Peter Zandstra, C.M. (School of Biomedical Engineering / Michael Smith Laboratories)
For his pioneering leadership in the field of stem cell bioengineering and its subsequent innovative health and economic impacts.


Please let us know if we have missed any current, former or UBC-affiliated faculty members from this listing.

UBC Crest The official logo of the University of British Columbia. Urgent Message An exclamation mark in a speech bubble. Caret An arrowhead indicating direction. Arrow An arrow indicating direction. Arrow in Circle An arrow indicating direction. Arrow in Circle An arrow indicating direction. Chats Two speech clouds. Facebook The logo for the Facebook social media service. Information The letter 'i' in a circle. Instagram The logo for the Instagram social media service. External Link An arrow entering a square. Linkedin The logo for the LinkedIn social media service. Location Pin A map location pin. Mail An envelope. Menu Three horizontal lines indicating a menu. Minus A minus sign. Telephone An antique telephone. Plus A plus symbol indicating more or the ability to add. Search A magnifying glass. Twitter The logo for the Twitter social media service. Youtube The logo for the YouTube video sharing service.