Arthur B. McDonald Fellowships


Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC)

Sponsor deadline:

Internal deadline:

Award Details

NSERC awards six Arthur B. McDonald Fellowships (formerly E.W.R. Steacie Fellowships) annually valued at $250,000 over two years, with full relief from teaching and administrative responsibilities.

UBC is limited to six nominations, so VPRI will coordinate a preliminary selection process (details and form below) to select UBC's candidates. NSERC is strongly encouraging institutions to consider equity, diversity and inclusion in the nomination processes, and is encouraging self-nominations.

  • Candidates must have held an independent academic position for 10 years or less as of June 1, 2022 (this window may be extended by career interruptions).
  • Candidates may self-nominate.
  • Criteria and weightings: 
    1. Research achievements and impacts (40%)
    2. Outreach, mentorship and leadership (30%)
    3. Future directions (30%)

Please review the full NSERC nomination guidelines:


Complete the online preliminary selection form by Tuesday, March 1, 2022 at 5 pm.

As the fellowship requires a two-year release from teaching and administrative duties, candidates should inform their department heads prior to submitting a preliminary self-nomination.

The preliminary selection form includes two mandatory documents:

  1. 2-page Accomplishment Statement (12 pt font, first person, addressing award criteria) and
  2. Updated UBC CV


  • The AVP Research and Innovation and/or an adjudication committee will review all preliminary selection materials.
  • Candidates selected to advance will be notified by April 1, 2022.
  • Selected candidates will complete the full package for submission to NSERC. The VPRI will provide nomination development support, including editorial review of the nomination documents.
  • Institutional sign-off will be provided by the VP Research & Innovation.
  • The VPRI Office will submit the final nominations to NSERC before the June 7, 2022 deadline.

Questions? Contact Meaghan Miller, Award Nomination Development Officer,

Previous Award Winners


  • Emily Cranston (Wood Science, Chemical & Biological Engineering) [Former award name E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowship]


  • Mary O'Connor (Zoology) [Former award name E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowship], William Cheung (Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries) [Former award name E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowship]

UBC Crest The official logo of the University of British Columbia. Urgent Message An exclamation mark in a speech bubble. Caret An arrowhead indicating direction. Arrow An arrow indicating direction. Arrow in Circle An arrow indicating direction. Arrow in Circle An arrow indicating direction. Chats Two speech clouds. Facebook The logo for the Facebook social media service. Information The letter 'i' in a circle. Instagram The logo for the Instagram social media service. External Link An arrow entering a square. Linkedin The logo for the LinkedIn social media service. Location Pin A map location pin. Mail An envelope. Menu Three horizontal lines indicating a menu. Minus A minus sign. Telephone An antique telephone. Plus A plus symbol indicating more or the ability to add. Search A magnifying glass. Twitter The logo for the Twitter social media service. Youtube The logo for the YouTube video sharing service.